Lego Ninjago Valentines

31 Jan

Every year the kids in Big A’s class exchange Valentines.  Every year I say “Next we are going to make the Valentines instead of buying them.”  This year, I finally actually MADE the Valentines!  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERACrazy thing is that making them didn’t cost any more than buying them, and they are way cooler than the store bought ones!

Big A LOVES Lego Ninjago, so naturally we made Lego Ninjago Valentines.  I bought a box of craft foam with assorted colors.  They are about the size of a note card/recipe card and have a peel off backing, so there was no need to use glue.  I bought 3 large sheets of craft foam in yellow for the faces.

I folded the small foam rectangles in half and cut the  middles out, almost like doing a figure eight.

Next, I peeled the backing off 9 cards, stuck them to a yellow sheet and then cut between them.  This made cutting the yellow a lot faster!  I repeated this step until I had 30 Valentines.

Next, I drew the eyes and eyebrows onto the faces.  Big A wrote to and from on the backs with his name and the names of each of his classmates in permanent marker.

I bought 2 large bags of M&Ms and sorted them by color.  Blue Ninja got a snack bag of blue candies, red got red and so on.  For the black ninja I did brown M&Ms and for the white one I did yellow.  I didn’t want to buy the special custom colored M&Ms, they are so expensive!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI stapled the snack bags of M&Ms to the Valentines, and they are done!  And so cute!

You could also do this for a Ninjago birthday party, these would make great invitations or thank you cards.

Leave a Reply

