30 Days of Organization- Day 5

6 Jan

Today my organizational goal was to clean out the medicine cabinet.  Mostly because when I opened it this morning to take my meds four bottles and a box of band-aids fell on my head.  That usually means we are 3 bottles of Tylenol past it needing to be cleaned out!  Most people keep their meds in a medicine cabinet in the bathroom, but our’s is actually in a cabinet in the kitchen with a lock on it.  We don’t have a opening mirror in the bathroom like some people, and I don’t have a way to lock the linen closet in the bathroom, hence the choice of kitchen cabinet.  Also, because I take a lot of meds and take them at different times throughout the day, so the kitchen seems the best place for me to keep them where I may actually remember to take them.

First things first . . . here is what it looked like before: OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Old meds we no longer take, nearly empty and expired pain killers, Tylenol and cough syrup, 7 partial boxes of band-aids, birthday party invitations, old glasses, nail polish . . . No wonder things were falling on my head!

I started by removing ALL the old meds we no longer take and everything that was expired.  Yes, Tylenol, Motrin, Advil, sunscreen and bug spray do expire.  All of these items need to disposed of properly, you can’t just toss them in the trash.  I bag them and drop them off at a clinic or police department where they do pill drops.  Many local pharmacies do these as well.  They dump them all in a big bin and from what I understand burn them.  Safer than tossing them in the trash where kids and pets can get into them or they can end up in any number of hands and even in your drinking water!

Next, anything that doesn’t belong in a medicine cabinet- like the birthday party invites, old glasses etc.  Those have other homes or can be donated . . . I always donate my old glasses to our church and they distribute them on missions.

I combined the boxes of band-aids all into 2 boxes and keep them in an old wipes container.  I tell you, those baby wipes containers are so useful for so many things!  Some day I may need to do a post of 101 things you can do with a wipes container!  I found 3 or 4 bottles of hand sanitizer, decided those were better put to use set around the house than hiding in a cabinet.  I grouped the children’s medicine together, then adult cough and cold and Advil etc, and then all my daily meds.

Most of what was in there seriously just had no need to be in there though!  Sorting out the junk and trash took more time than actually arranging the items that belong!  But now when someone is sick or has an “owie” it will be so much easier to find what they need to help them feel better!  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Wow!  HUGE difference!  And, I will also add that I keep the medicines on the 2nd shelf because Little C has been known to get curious and even if he should decide to push a chair over, figure out how to work the child lock and open the cabinet, he still won’t be able to reach anything harmful.  As my kids get older and begin to learn about getting high (which they’d better not do, but I know at the very least they will know someone who has) I will have a combination or padlock on my medicine cabinet.  The things kids and teens use to get high now . . . cold medicines and mixing different OTC drugs together . . . not only dangerous and scary as a parent, but also deadly.

2 Responses to “30 Days of Organization- Day 5”

  1. lifewithpinkprincesses January 6, 2013 at 8:39 pm #

    Everything tends to fall out of our medicine cabinet. Must be a medicine thing 🙂

    • bigmouthmom January 7, 2013 at 1:41 am #

      It must be! But you would think that using a big kitchen cabinet would keep that from happening . . . turns out it just means we pile more crap in there!

Leave a Reply

