30 Days to Organized- Days 2 AND 3

5 Jan

Thought I had already given up on my 30 days of organization, did ya?  Well I fooled you!  HA!  Actually, my playroom organization took 2 days, partly because the boys were getting into the “toss” and “sell” boxes and digging stuff back out, and partly because it was a big undertaking!  Playrooms are a wonderful thing for a mom . . . the toys get played with in that room more than other room in the house, you don’t have toys that live in your living room 100% of the time, and if the playroom gets messy it’s not as bad as your living room or kitchen, you can just shut the door instead of tripping all over toys in the main living areas.  That being said, playrooms also bare the most clutter, junk and disorganization.  Well, at least mine does anyway!

Step one for me was sorting.  Sorting out broken toys, Happy Meal toys, books we don’t read or have outgrown, coloring books that are all colored up etc.  I had a “toss” box and a “sell box”.  Obviously the toss box was for anything that was not worth keeping or trying to sell.  The sell box was for anything my kids have outgrown or just never played with that was still in nice shape.  I put some of the nicer items on Craigslist, and the ones I didn’t feel like trying to sell-stuffed animals or books- went in yet another a box to be donated.  If they are in nice shape, I’m sure some poor child would appreciate them very much!

So after the purge, this is what my playroom looked like:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Haphazard, toys and games on their shelves but no order, the bookshelf was such a disaster that if someone took a book off they would most likely all fall off on top of the unsuspecting lover of the written word.  A vacuum cleaner, I’m not even sure why that was being stored in there!

So, what did Momma Dummy do?  I labeled, I bagged, boxed and otherwise organized.  All the puzzles came out of their poorly constructed cardboard boxes.  I cut the picture off the box that showed what the puzzle was, glued it to a Ziploc freezer bag and put all the pieces inside.  Then, being a wise a resourceful woman (wink wink) I took a bucket from kitty litter that I had sitting around waiting for a new purpose, put all the bagged puzzles inside and covered the plastic container with paper.  I used my trusty spray adhesive to  affix the paper, labeled the new tote and voila!  Puzzle storage!  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIf they made these containers in various sizes, I would probably have an entire house full of repurposed kitty litter containers!  I wanted to put the games in one as well, but the game boards didn’t fit, so I just reinforced all the board game boxes instead and put them back on the shelves.

For the cluttered up book shelf, I took all the smaller books that tend to get lost in the shuffle or fall behind the shelf and made book boxes for them.  I used cereal boxes to make book boxes, and after doing so was kicking myself for not having done this YEARS ago!  All you do is cut a right triangle out of the front and back panels, then cover the box in paper.  I made 4 of them and put all of Big A’s chapter and early reader books in the first 2, and then Little C’s Little Golden books and Dr Suess books in the other 2.  The stand up nice on the top shelf, take up the same amount of space as the books did on their own, but not they won’t be falling all over the place.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

I will say, one of my big pet peeves is those books that are too large for the bookshelf.  They always end up in a giant pile and then nobody reads them because they can’t see what books they are.  So authors of children’s books, if you are reading this . . .Please make your books smaller so they fit on the shelf!  That is all.  (side note-this is NOT all of the books my kids own.  They also each have a bookshelf in their room FILLED with books.  We love to read in this house!)

For the rest of the toys, Little People, Playmobil people, super heros, action figures, dress up clothes etc a fabric bin was labeled in which each item will now live.  They all have a home labeled with both a word and a little drawing because Little C is only 3 and he cannot read yet.

Little C insisted on posing for this one!  Aww, isn’t he cute folks?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

But if you look past the darling little ham standing in front of the cubbies, you can see that I have all the bins labeled-Little People, Playmobil People, Hats-only because the hats don’t fit well into our dress up container and they get crushed- Playmobil parts-like the swords and cannons and whatnot, and then the last bin is labeled “random” because it’s all that stuff that we don’t have enough of to each have their own bin.  Toy phones, Nerf guns, echo microphones, yoyos . . . that little crap kids love and moms hate.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now you can see the lack of puzzles taking up the entire right side of the built-ins.  Only the wooden puzzles and larger floor puzzles remain on the shelf.  All the games fit nicely onto the lower left shelf, under the large castle and 2 pirate ships.  We have one row of VHS tapes-yes, we own not one, but 3 working VCRs- one row of children’s DVDs, and then larger cars, trucks, and play buildings that don’t fit in the cubbies.  I’d say mission accomplished for days 2 and 3 and a HUGE hooray for a much more manageable playroom!  Yippee!

Leave a Reply

