Dollar Store Wreath

20 Nov

First, I have to apologize in advance.  From now until approximately  New Years Eve, all I will be blogging is Christmas and Winter crafts.  This is because there are SO many awesome projects this time of year!  My kids love making holiday decorations, making gifts . . . and let’s face it: we can’t get outside as much during the Winter months here in the Arctic.

 

What you need:

  • pool noodle
  • sharp knife
  • 2-3 15 foot long garlands
  • wide wired ribbon
  • hot glue gun
  • ornaments
  • pre-made bow unless you are cool and can make a pretty bow, which I cannot

 

Before I get into the how-to, I need to point out the title “Dollar Store Wreath”.  Everything I used to make this wreath came from the dollar store.  This is because A- I was at the Dollar Store and decided to make a wreath.  B-I’m cheap.  And C-The holidays are expensive enough without spending a fortune on decorations, or even on the supplies to make them yourself.

Take your pool noodle and cut it in half the long way.  This is a royal pain in the ass and very messy, so do not decide to do it on your living room floor like I did.  Also, I used a box cutter, which is why it was a pain in the ass.  If you use a longer kitchen knife you won’t have to keep going back and recutting.  So, big knife, less time and less of a pain.  Just be careful.

Depending on how large you want your wreath to be, you can cut the noodle or leave it full length.  Mine was going to hang on the front door, and I wanted it big, so I left it fell length.

Bend the noodle into a circle and hot glue the ends together.  Hold them in place for about 30 seconds to a minute until the glue has dried.  Otherwise it’s just going to sproy-oy-oy-oing back to it’s original shape.  (sorry, Little C has been sick so we’ve been watching a ton of cartoons.  Hence the cartoon-like sound effect)

Now you start wrapping the garland around the pool noodle.  I used a wired garland, but you really can use any kind you want, even the shiny tinsel garland would work.  Hot glue the end to the noodle and wrap, not too tightly, but not so loose that it flops around or shows noodle.  (wow, get your head outta the gutter people!)

Once you have all your garland wrapped and ends are glued down, give it a good fluff so it looks more natural.  Now you can start Total with the ribbon, wrapping it loosely around the garland.  The wired stuff is a little better because you can form it to the wreath.  I didn’t glue the ends of the ribbon down, I just tucked them into the garland.

For the ornaments, I glued them so they looked like balls, with the hook holder part hiding in the garland.  If you want that ornament look, then glue them with the tops out.

The last thing to do is glue on your bow. Like I said earlier, I SUCK at bows, so mine was premade.

  • pool noodle $0 (I had one in the attic)
  • 3 15ft garlands $3
  • 2 tubes of 12 ornaments $2
  • Spool of ribbon $1
  • premade bow $1

Total cost= $7!  Now that’s what I call a Christmas miracle!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Dollar Store Wreath”

  1. cestlavie22 November 20, 2012 at 2:01 am #

    Adorable and inexpensive! My two favorite things! Great idea!!

Leave a Reply

