Turkey Toes

7 Nov

I have spent the past 3 days in bed with a wicked Fibromyalgia flare up.  I’ve been feeling like I may win Crappy Momma of the Week award for allowing my 3 year old to watch tv all day yesterday.  Today Hubby was home too, so it wasn’t so bad, and Little C spent a good portion of the day laying in my bed with me coloring in coloring books and asking me every 5 minutes if I felt better yet.

This evening, finally able to lift my head and move some, I decided we needed to do a craft.  It had to be an easy Momma-doesn’t-need-to-think craft because I’m no where near 100% yet.

 

My kids love to paint, and we rarely finger paint because it usually ends up more like body painting . . . so I decided to let them do a little thing I like to call Turkey Toes.

What you need:

  • acrylic or tempera paints
  • construction paper
  • paint brush
  • paper plate

We started by painting the boys’ hands in their color of choice.  The hands are the feathers, so place them high enough to leave room for the body.  Big A wanted Fall or “turkey” colors, so he chose red and yellow and then mixed the two together for orange.  Little C wanted Packer colors, so he chose yellow and green.

You could do each color on a separate paper plate and have them dip their hands in the color, but that wastes paper plates and paint, so I just used a paint brush as to no get too much paint on their hands and feet.

After you done all the feathers you want, wash your hand off.  (duh.)

Next, we painted their feet (one foot per child) with the brown paint and pressed their feet onto the paper in the center of the feathers.

Big A made a face and feet for his turkey by dipping a Q-Tip in the left over paint.  Little C followed suit but didn’t get as fancy.

It was pretty funny actually, because I tell Little C all the time not to draw on himself, not to paint on himself . . . and here I am say Ok, now paint your hand!  He was a little hesitant at first!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

