Lego Ninjago Costume

21 Oct

And now . . . the moment you’ve all been waiting for . . . I give you the Lego Ninjago Halloween costume!  (loud applause and cheers!)  Ok, ok.  You don’t have to cheer an applaud my hard work on this fabulous costume.  BUT, I can tell you that Big A wore it last night to a local Halloween festival and he won 1st prize in the costume contest!  He was so proud you would have thought they gave him a gold medal and $1000!

You may have noticed that Legos are quite popular at the Dummy house.  And most recently, the Lego Ninjagos are the greatest thing since sliced bread.  Naturally when we asked Big A what he wanted to be for Halloween, he said the Green Ninja.  Well, you can buy a plain ol run of the mill ninja costume, although I couldn’t find a green one anywhere.  But who wants to buy a costume that everyone else will be wearing when you can MAKE a one of a kind costume instead?

What you need:

  • cardboard-preferably corrugated cardboard as it is very sturdy
  • hot glue gun
  • box cutter
  • spray paint and spray primer
  • felt
  • exacto knife
  • painters tape
  • measuring tape
  • black permanent marker

For the body: I started out with a moving box.  I opened it up, cutting at the seams of the box until I had a flat sheet of cardboard.  I cut at an angle because if you look at a Lego mini figure, they are shaped like a triangle without the point on the top.  So I cut the front, leaving 2 large tabs for the shoulders across the top.

For the arms, I laid Big A’s jacket on the floor and put the cardboard over it and used that as a template for where the arm holes should go.  Big A was in bed, so I couldn’t just measure him, which would have been the easier method!  I cut out the arm holes large enough for Big A to move comfortably with a sweatshirt on underneath.

I used hot glue to glue all the seams together.  The front panel glued to the side panel, side panels glued to the back panel, and the shoulder tabs bend from the front and then glued to the back panel.  (I really hope that makes sense, I’m not a great tutorial writer!  Sorry!)

For the head: The head was a large sand pail I found on clearance for $0.50.  It was the perfect shape and color for a Lego man’s head.  For this part, I placed the pail on Big A’s head first to see how it sat.  Next, I took it off again and measured from his shoulders (where the bottom of the pail sat) to his eyes so I would know where to cut the eye holes.  Using an exacto knife, I cut the eye holes out.  This was a little tricky, it isn’t easy to cut a round shape out of plastic with a knife.  The knife kept wanting to go in a straight line, and I had to be very careful not to crack the plastic.

Since Big A wanted to be the Green Ninja, we bought a can of green spray paint.  VERY IMPORTANT: You have to prime the cardboard and the plastic BEFORE you spray paint them!  If you don’t, the paint will run and drip and will not stick to the plastic or the cardboard.  To paint the body, I just painted the whole thing, easy peasy.  It took 2 coats to get it totally covered, and I used a hi-gloss paint.  For the head, I covered the eye area with painter’s tape, making sure there was a rounded part of the yellow that would show through the “shroud” of green paint.  Again, it took 2 coats and I waited 24 hours before very carefully pulling off the tape so as not to peel the green paint off with it.

I outlined the eyes and face mask area with black permanent marker.

For the accessories on the body, I used colored felt and copied a picture we have of the Green Ninja.  I cut out the felt in the shapes I needed and hot glued them in place.

To keep the head from moving around when Big A walks, I added velcro to the inside of the pail, and another piece to a Winter hat.  That way they stick to each other and he can turn his head and the pail turns with him.

 

 

Here we are at the festival, Big A the Green Ninja and Little C as Curious George. 

 

Big A won 1st prize in his Ninjago costume at a local Halloween festival last night!  He was super excited!  If you like it a whole bunch, feel free to pop over to this costume contest and vote for him!

 

Of course, I think my kids look adorable in their costumes!  But it’s even more special since I made both of them, and even though there are a ton of kids out there dressed like ninjas and monkeys . . . mine are unique and special and they love them and that is really all that matters!

3 Responses to “Lego Ninjago Costume”

  1. motherhoodisanart October 27, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

    Oh MY Goodness!!! This is absolutely AMAZING!!! I must have started following you after you posted this because I did NOT see this before!! Super job!!! I can definitely see why he won!!!

    • bigmouthmom October 28, 2012 at 3:47 am #

      Thank you! My son was SO excited when we started making it because he wanted to be nothing other than the Green Ninja. It really turned out great!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Scrabble Tile Photo Ornaments etc etc etc « Wrong Way Dummy - December 19, 2012

    […] them.  You could do glitter, modpodge photos onto them . . .whatever you want!  Notice the green ninja ornament?  Gee, think my kids like Lego Ninjago or […]

Leave a Reply

