I’m Not Lion, That’s a Monkey!

17 Oct

You may have noticed that Little C LOVES Curious George and pretty much everything monkey.

Naturally, when we asked him what he wanted to be for Halloween, he said Curious George.  Ok, so Momma can go out and spend $50-$60 on a costume he will only wear a few times and then most likely it will sit in the dress up bin until it is outgrown and then head to Goodwill.  OR . . . Momma can make a monkey costume.  Ah, but one problem, I really don’t sew.  Hmmm . . . What’s a girl to do?

I have this gift you see.  I can look at something and see it as many other things, or being used for many other uses most people would never dream up.  I was at the thrift store (love that place!)  looking for a monkey suit or something similar.  I didn’t find a monkey, but I DID find a lion!

How does one make a lion into a monkey you ask?  It’s not super easy!

First, I had to remove the lion face from the hood.  I used a seam ripper and popped that face off, it was kind of creepy and horror-movie-esque.  Then I gave the lion a haircut.  I made a HUGE mess cutting all of the fuzzy mane off.  I tried using a hair clipper, but that wasn’t working so I had to just used kitchen scissors.

The lion had long claws on each paw, which I also cut off.

I opened the existing tail and shoved some pipe cleaners in it so it would stand up and curl at the end a little.  Then I covered it in brown felt.

I covered the belly in brown felt and, per Little C’s request, gave the monkey a belly button.

I made some felt ears and glued them to the sides of the head.  I bought a yellow hat for $2 at the thrift store and put a black strip of felt around it just like the Man with the Yellow Hat wears.  Little C was most excited about this part!

There you have it!  No longer a lion, but an adorable and unique Curious George costume!  Very warm too!  I plan to make a felt banana to sew onto the hand as well, but I was happy with how it turned out, I HAD to share it now!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
If you like that . . . just wait until you see Big A’s Ninjago costume!  I’m saving that one . . .  it’s a surprise!

3 Responses to “I’m Not Lion, That’s a Monkey!”

  1. motherhoodisanart October 27, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

    Okay, this is so much better than the monkey costume I whirled up but I love the fact that we both repurpose things to get our end results! This is so super cute!!! I love it!!!

    • bigmouthmom October 28, 2012 at 3:46 am #

      When you make something yourself it’s much more fun, and less expensive than to go buy a costume that 50 other people are wearing

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lego Ninjago Costume « Wrong Way Dummy - October 21, 2012

    […] Here we are at the festival, Big A the Green Ninja and Little C as Curious George.  […]

Leave a Reply

