The Boys’ New House

14 Sep

Sorry I’ve been MIA lately!  I just started a new job and my evenings are hectic and frazzled between homework, bath time, and bed time!  I’m so tired by the time the boys are in bed I can hardly think straight!

Last weekend we finished a project that was a year in the making.  Handy Hubby and Big A devised a fabulous tree house last Sept.  That’s right, a year ago!  After listening to my kids and all the neighborhood kids ask over and over when the tree house was going to be finished, I finally lit a big enough fire under Handy hubby’s butt to actually build the darn thing!

I cannot give you a tutorial on how to build the tree house because math and building are not my strongest skills.  I can however, show it off because that is just how I am!  Neener neener neener.  I can tell you that you should ALWAYS use a saw horse when cutting wood.  Handy Hubby was too lazy to walk into the garage and bring the saw horses out so he was balancing the wood on his legs.  He cut his thigh with the circular saw.  That’s right.  Stupid man wouldn’t even go get stitches!  And believe me, he needed them!

That bridge is my favorite part of the tree house!  I love the rope railing!

Little C enjoying the view

 

 

This is the totally finished tree house!  It’s approximately 9 feet off the ground.  The swingset and slide area were the original, built 5 years ago.  The deck Little C is standing on was built last ear and was not accessible until the bridge was built.  There is a ladder to got to the second level.

I wanted the inside of the tree house to look like a real house . . . pictures on the walls, shelves etc.  Big A wanted a fireplace built in the corner, but that would have taken up too much room.  My solution was to pain a fireplace on the wall.  There is a support beam over the fireplace so I painted a trophy and football over the beam to look like they were sitting on a fireplace mantle.

Little C requested a penguin, so I painted a penguin on the wall for him.  Before you start to think, “Wow, she’s really lost her touch . . . these paintings aren’t up to par for the Dummy!”  Let me tell you, it is REALLY hard to paint on raw plywood!  It’s very rough and porous!  I was going for whimsical and childlike . . . but it wasn’t easy painting!

2 Responses to “The Boys’ New House”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Halloween Decor DIYs « Wrong Way Dummy - October 7, 2012

    […] our graveyard I had Handy Hubby cut some headstones out of plywood we had left over from the tree house.  We painted them gray and Big A painted the words and pictures on the fronts with black craft […]

  2. Fort Friday Loves US! « Wrong Way Dummy - October 13, 2012

    […] with fun crafts and goodies.  They have a weekly post called Fort Friday, and they showcased our tree house!  Check it out and while you are over there, make sure you look through all her other cool posts […]

Leave a Reply

