Front Yard Fishin

23 Aug

This dummy and my 2 boys have spent the week sick.  I mean coughing-our-heads-off-fever-sweats-chills-cannot-stay-awake-SICK.  Little C spent the latter part of our vacation unable to breath or stay awake.   I got sick Monday and spent the entire day in bed.  I suffered through 9 hours of work hacking up a lung the whole time (my coworkers all wanted to don hazmat suits)  Today Big A woke up coughing, but not nearly as bad as Little C and I have been.

So sicky Momma spent the day with a 2 yr old who is finally starting to feel better and a 7 yr old who is slightly under the weather.  We spent the entire portion of the day before 1pm in our pajamas watching movies I had ordered for Christmas gifts.  Thank goodness I’m an early shopper!  New movies saved the beginning of the day!

By 1:00 we were all a little tired of laying around, and by “we” I mean the boys because I would have been happy to just stay on the couch all day!  The boys weren’t quite ready for full on physical activity, so I got creative.  I needed a way to have them outside without having them running around like little nuts.  My solution was to turn our driveway into a fishing game!

We have a few old fishing poles in the garage that the boys love playing with, but they don’t have any fishing line in them.  I strung some yarn through them and tied magnets to the end of the yarn.  (if you don’t have fishing poles, dowels, sticks, or even a wooden spoon will work)

For fish, we cut several different sizes of fish shapes out of construction paper, then taped a metal washer where the fish’s eye should be.  (don’t have washers?  Use a paper clip)

The boys hopped in their wagon and had me pull them out to sea, they brought a basket on board to fill with their catch.

I drew some waves, a shark and a mermaid on the driveway around their “boat”.  Later they added a dock and some seas weed.

They spent hours fishing in the driveway, and I even had to fashion extra fishing poles as neighbor kids came over to join in the game!

3 Responses to “Front Yard Fishin”

  1. memyselfandkids August 23, 2012 at 2:32 am #

    You are very creative and productive when you are sick.

    • bigmouthmom August 23, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

      Not productive . . . you really ought to see the state of my house after this week of my being sick!

      • memyselfandkids August 23, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

        Kept the kids busy in a creative way.

Leave a Reply

