A Lesson in Courage-Taught by my 7 Year Old

15 Aug

We are on a lovely week long vacation with my siblings and all my nieces and nephews at a HUGE water park resort.  We’ve been having a great time in wave pools and water slides and arcades . . .oh my!  (dork)  Yesterday Big A wanted to try out the new ropes course at the 3 story arcade.  I was all for it, something new and different, right?

did I mention 3 stories high?  Um, yeah . . . you are tethered via rock climbing gear to a track and you walk along tight ropes and rope bridges . . . 3 stories above the rest of the arcade.  I’m afraid of heights.

We get hooked up, the guy goes over the rules and explains that there is no possible way we can plummet to our death.  So lets get started!

Big A was having a blast!  He felt like Spider Man, climbing above the video games and hopping across the “log” bridges.  Me?  I was clinging for my life to an iron pole and shaking like a Chihuahua!

A guide came along and asked if I was stuck, I told him I wasn’t physically stuck, but mentally I was.  I was on the verge of a full fledged panic attack!  He took my hand and guided me over a scary bridge and back to my son, who was grinning from ear to ear.

As I’m thinking of going back and admitting defeat, I hear a sweet little voice from in front of me . . .”Come on Mommy!  You are doing great!  Just look at me, don’t look down!  I’m proud of you, Mommy!”  Now who can chicken out after those encouraging words from their child?

I finished the ropes course, with Big A cheering me on the whole way.  Lesson learned . . . conquer your fears.  Even if you are scared, remember why you wanted to do it in the first place and don’t let that little voice inside your head keep you from doing what you set out to do.

At the end of the course, Big A gave me a huge hug and told me one more time “I’m proud of you Mommy.”

Leave a Reply

