Lego Ninjago Cake

27 Jun

Big A just turned 7 (sniffle) and we went to Legoland for his birthday.  He is totally into Legos, building them, buying them and playing with them.  They take over a large section of the playroom.  I’m pretty sure I have several Lego shaped scars on the bottoms of my feet from stepping on the little buggers in the middle of the night.  So it was really no surprise when I asked Big A what kind of cake he wanted and his reply was a Lego Ninjago cake.  And it had to be the green ninja.

I’m not a cake decorator by trade.  I would say that is the one artistic medium I really suck at.  Don’t get me wrong, I TRY really hard to make the characters my kids request.  But you should have seen the cake train . . .Oy!  That thing had so many toothpicks holding it together I had to stick a disclaimer over it before it could be cut!

The Ninjago Ninja is a pretty simple dude, especially when you are only drawing his face, which is what I was doing.  He’s basically eyes.

I drew his face on a piece of paper and thought, oh yeah, I can totally do this!  Even with my less than stellar cake decorating skills, I can handle eyes.  Right?

I gathered my supplies and set to work to make the best possible green Ninjago cake I could muster.

 

 

 

 

 

Yes, I cheated and bought the canned frosting with the decorating tips included.  I don’t own fancy cake tools, alright people?!?! I had my 8 inch cake and my canned frosting (hey it tastes just as good as the home made frosting!)  my Ninjago drawing and I was ready to get to work!

If you have the right tools-decorating tips and a steady hand-your cake can actually turn out half way decent!  I was pretty impressed with my novice Ninjago!

I make the yellow band across for his face by just mixing a little white frosting with yellow food coloring and then spreading it on with a baby spoon.  The green for his sheath or whatever you want to call it, I used the star tip and just did a good million little green stars like a normal pro-cake decorator would do.

For the eyes I used M&Ms, and the eyebrows I used a tiny squirt of white frosting mixed with black food coloring.

I was pretty impressed with my first ever attempt to use actual cake decorating tools!

Big A totally loved his green Ninja, even if it didn’t look exactly like the picture or like it came from a professional bakery.  Maybe next time I will even try using real decorating tools, and not just the ones that come with the can of frosting!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy 7th Birthday Buddy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Lego Ninjago Cake”

  1. mydearbakes June 30, 2012 at 5:05 am #

    This looks so brilliant! How I wish I can do something like that =)

    • bigmouthmom June 30, 2012 at 5:16 am #

      Thank you! you can do it, believe me, I am a terrible cake decorator! If the Dummy can do it, so can you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lego Ninjago Costume « Wrong Way Dummy - October 21, 2012

    […] now . . . the moment you’ve all been waiting for . . . I give you the Lego Ninjago Halloween costume!  (loud applause and cheers!)  Ok, ok.  You don’t have to cheer an […]

  2. Scrabble Tile Photo Ornaments etc etc etc « Wrong Way Dummy - December 19, 2012

    […] onto them . . .whatever you want!  Notice the green ninja ornament?  Gee, think my kids like Lego Ninjago or […]

Leave a Reply

