Dummie’s Own Chili

27 Jun

I LOVE chili, and not that canned shlop they call chili . . .I mean good ol’ fashioned home cooked chili.  Over the years I have perfected my own chili recipe down to a fine science.  Yes, some can build, others are good at math . . .me?  I make kick ass chili!

What you need:

  • 2 cans of chili beans-I use use mild but if you like it HOT go for it
  • 1 can of kidney beans
  • 3 cans of tomatoes- I like to mix it up and do one sliced stewed, one diced seasoned and one diced stewed
  • 1 large green pepper
  • 1 large Vadalia onion
  • 1 can of water
  • an array of seasonings-I use oregano, garlic powder, basil, chili powder and a little season salt
  • 1 pack of chili seasoning
  • 1 pound of ground hamburger
  • extra virgin olive oil

Brown the hamburger and drain, then dump the seasoning in and stir.  Set hamburger aside

Dice the onion, chop the pepper and put in about a tablespoon of olive oil into a large pot.  I use what I refer to as “my chili pot.”  Simmer in the oil about 10 minutes on medium heat.

Stir in meat, tomatoes and beans.  Add one can of water and simmer about 20 minutes on medium heat.

Add seasonings to taste, I never do measurements for seasonings, just shake til it tastes good!

Serve topped with cheese or over a lovely piece of fresh corn bread and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

