For the Love of Wubbzy

20 May

When Big A was 2, he had an obsession with an adorable little yellow cartoon character named Wubbzy.  I have to admit, the show was cute, the songs were catchy and after a few weeks of non stop “Fwow Ow Ubby” as Big A called it, Handy Hubby and I were also hooked.  Wow Wow Wubbzy was a relatively new Nick Jr cartoon at the time, and merchandise was not yet available.  I subscribed to the Wubblog in desperation, hoping they were going to post some great toy for Big A’s birthday.  No such luck.  They showed off a few prototypes, but that was all.

With Big A’s birthday fast approaching, I decided to take matters into my own hands.  If my boy wanted a “Ubby” plush for his birthday, then darn it he was going to get one!  How hard could it be?  Wubbzy was a pretty simple character.

I went to the fabric store and bought a few yards of yellow fleece, batting, and black felt.  I drew out the shape of Wubbzy on the felt, cut him out and got to work.  The body was easy, similar to a pillow.  His hands, on the other hand, well not so much.  The tail, being skinny, we hard to turn right side out.  The finished product, while it looked like Wubbzy to my 2 yr old, was not my best work.  But Big A was satisfied, I was somewhat satisfied, and my creation was even debuted on the Wubblog

I may not be a seamstress, or a master toy maker, but once again I have proved what I cannot buy, I will make!

2 Responses to “For the Love of Wubbzy”

  1. Meech May 21, 2012 at 2:21 am #

    Looks like Wubbzy to me! Big A wouldn’t have loved a store bought toy any more than this one.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mural Monday « Wrong Way Dummy - June 11, 2012

    […] that cute little character Big A loved so much when he was 2 named  Wubbzy?  Well at that time Little C was just a glimmer in my eye, so we had an extra room in our house […]

Leave a Reply

