Napkin Pillows

19 May

Ever since we redid our living room I’ve been searching for new pillows for our sofa and love seat.  I knew I wanted green, but that was as far as I got.  Everywhere I looked they were either too expensive (for on I loved but it was $80!) or just not the right patten.

One day on a routine trip to Target, I stumbled across some awesome fabric napkins on clearance for $4 a pack.  There were 4 napkins per pack, so I bought 2 packs.  They were almost the exact same pattern as the $80 pillow I fell in love with, the right shade of green!  Score!

My mom had been holding on to some pillows from her apartment and they were just the right shape and size to cover with my napkins.  She didn’t need them, and it meant I didn’t have to buy pillow forms.  Score again!

How does one cover a pillow with napkins?  I’m so glad you asked!

Iron the napkins to get all the creases out from being folded in a package.  You can wash them if they are washable, which I recommend for pillows that will be laid on.

How many napkins you need for each pillow will depend on the size of your pillows.  Mine were standard throw pillows, about 12×12 and I used 2 napkins per pillow, without having to cut any of the napkin.

Lay the napkins pattern side in and pin along 3 sides.  You will use the seams of the napkins as a guideline for the foot of your sewing machine.

Sew along 3 sides staying right inside the seam and all the way to the corner of the 4th side.

Once the 3 sides are sewn, turn the napkin fabric side out and slide your pillow in.

If you are using a zipper, good for you, but I think zippers are a royal pain and they cost about as much as just buying a new pillow.  I just did the hidden hand stitch on the 4th side.

My finished product turned out great, took about an hour for 3 pillows and cost me $8!

 

2 Responses to “Napkin Pillows”

  1. Asia @ Cape Cod Dreams May 20, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

    What a cute and affordable way to customize a pillow with whatever fabric you choose! This sounds ten times more appealing then paying $20-$50 for a cute pillow. Thanks so much for sharing. I really like your blog, its right up my alley! 🙂

    Asia

  2. amburgular May 21, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

    So jealous of the new living room.

Leave a Reply

