The Living Room Redo- Part One

3 May

My friend “hired” me to redecorate her living room a few weeks ago and it’s finally finished.  She wanted to take it from a chaotic clutter to a serene beach feel.  I have to say, I did a pretty good job!  I totally forgot to take a before picture of the entire room, but I have a ton of great before and after shots of some fabulous DIYs I did to keep her costs down!  Since there are so many, I’m going to share them with you in parts, mostly because I had surgery last week and haven’t been doing much crafting since!  (4th surgery in a year, yay me.  I suggested they offer a punch card at the hospital)

My first DIY from the room redo is a really cool mirror I painted for her.  It started out a cheap Big Lots find and we liked the viney scroll work but hated the color.  A little tape and spray paint and the mirror is now a beautiful vintage looking piece hanging over her fireplace!  See the cute little starfish and seahorse?  She got those at a craft store for $4 each, but they were stark white so they blended right in to the wall.  We painted them the same color as the mirror so they would pop a little more.

Next are some lackluster wooden tables that were pretty dinged up.  I’m stupid and was hopped up on post surgical pain killers, so again no before picture.  But I assure you they were nothing special before!  We painted them a pretty white, topped them off with her existing lamps and some really cool bamboo place mats.

Total cost for fire place decor-$18 (mirror, 2 wire sculptures) We used paint I already had so that was free!  Total cost for end table refurbish- $0!  Had the paint for that already too, and she had the bamboo placemats in a box!

Stay tuned because my next post will feature an awesome upholstered window seat!

One Response to “The Living Room Redo- Part One”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Living Room Redo Part 2 « Wrong Way Dummy - May 5, 2012

    […] In part 1 I featured a drab to fab mirror refurbish as well as end table refurbs.  In part 2, things get spectacular! […]

Leave a Reply

