What I Cannot Buy, I Will Make

20 Apr

This past September Little C turned 2 (tear, sob, my baby!)and he wanted a Yo Gabba Gabba birthday party.  By that point they really hadn’t come out with much Gabba merchandise.  I didn’t want to do something else, since Gabba was his one and only love and the only tv show he ever watched.  What does a momma do if she cannot find the party supplies she needs to make her child’s birthday wonderful?  She MAKES THEM!  Of course!

Party hats?  Check! 

Super easy to make your own party hats too.  I used old cardboard from soda and cereal boxes, rolled it into a cone shape and stapled it, then trimmed off the excess so that they looked like store bought hats.  I covered them in construction paper and used a glue stick to hold the paper in place.  Then I decorated them so they would look like the characters from Yo Gabba Gabba.  Finally, I taped elastic inside so that they would have a chin strap.

Total cost : $0.  All materials were already in my home!

 

Decorations? Check!

A little more time consuming than the hats, but totally worth it!  I used poster board from the dollar store to make giant cut outs of all the characters from the show, painted them, and hung them over the gift table.  My personal favorite was Plex!  I used tinfoil for his legs to give it that metal robot look.  We actually still have these cute guys hanging on the wall in our playroom!

I didn’t want a life size cutout of Dj Lance, so I decided to use a popular scene from the beginning of the show where he peeks over his boom box.  I covered a cereal box in tinfoil and decorated it like a boombox, button and speakers.  Then I made a cutout of just Dj Lance’s head and his famous furry hat and glued it to the back of the boombox.  Little C thought that was hysterical!

Total cost for decorations: $5 for posterboard

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I may be quite artistic and crafty, but if there is one thing I suck at it decorating cakes!  I try and I try and I just cannot make them like a human decorated them.  In fact, baboons could probably decorate a cake better than I can!  Nevertheless, Little C wanted a Brobee cake, and since I was sure no baker would make me a Brobee cake for less than $40, I had to do it myself.  You don’t want directions to duplicate my cake, so I will just show you the finished product so you can laugh at it for a little while. 

It is green like Brobee, it has little red horns or whatever those are, but that’s about it.  But it tasted pretty darn good!  And I used too much food coloring, so Little C was green for a week afterwards!

Total cost for the weird Brobee-like alien cake:

$6 for cake mix and frosting.  Not bad, wouldn’t pay more than that for a cake that only slightly resembles the character and turns everyone the color of mold for a week!

 

 

 

 

So total price for a one of a kind theme party?

$11!  Seriously!  $11!  Not including the food we made, but that is groceries so it’s not a big deal.  Parents. I’m telling you that you do not need to spend hundreds and hundreds of dollars on party decor and favors and fancy cakes.  The most important thing is that you are there for your child’s birthday, make them feel special and shower them with love and affection.  And cover them in frosting.

 

 

4 Responses to “What I Cannot Buy, I Will Make”

  1. Kate April 20, 2012 at 11:02 am #

    Loved your post – such cool ideas, great photos, and amazing thriftiness! 😉

  2. Terry Monce July 11, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

    When it comes to party hats, i really love those party hats that are shaped like animals because they are funny looking. ”;:` Warmest regards vitamin side effects post

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. For the Love of Wubbzy « Wrong Way Dummy - May 20, 2012

    […] I may not be a seamstress, or a master toy maker, but once again I have proved what I cannot buy, I will make! […]

  2. A Curious Kind of Party « Wrong Way Dummy - September 17, 2012

    […] My sweet Little C is 3 today!  Hard to believe, seems like only yesterday he was a teeny little baby!  We had his birthday party this past weekend and it was none other than a Curious George party.  Similar to last year, I had a difficult time finding Curious George party supplies.  We found some, but not enough for what I was going for.  And what do I always say?  What I cannot buy, I will make!   […]

Leave a Reply

