Best Chicken Pot Pie EVER!

17 Apr

Chicken pot pie is one of those wonderful, fattening, comfort foods we all love so much.  Blasted Marie Callenders for making it so damn fattening!  Wait, what?  You make it at home, yourself?  And it’s really easy?  And delicious?  AND not nearly as bad for you?  WOW!

Ok, sarcasm over.  But seriously, I made the most wonderfully yummy chicken pot pie tonight for supper and my entire family, even Big A who is VERY picky and OCD and hates his food mixed together loved it!

What you need:

-2 frozen pie crusts (I used Pilsbury)

-2 chicken breasts cooked and cubed (or be lazy and buy the precooked precut kind)

-one bag of frozen mixed veggies (corn, carrots, green beans, peas)

-2 cans of cream of chicken soup (mine was the fat free, but any kind will work)

-1 soup can of milk

-pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400.  Mix together soup, milk, cooked chicken and veggies in a bowl.  When oven is ready, pour mixture into one pie crust.  Carefully tip the other crust out of the pie pan on top of the filled crust.  Press edges together, then cut 3 or 4 slits on the top of the crust.  Set on a baking sheet and put in over for about 35 minutes or until the top crust is flaky and golden.  Let cool, serve.

 

So easy it’s almost scary!  Best part is, it’s crazy delicious! I apologize for the picture of the pie AFTER we’d already eaten most of it.  But this way, you can see the yummy inside too!

4 Responses to “Best Chicken Pot Pie EVER!”

  1. kat April 17, 2012 at 3:48 am #

    Oooh I love chicken pot pie! That is such a great an easy recipe! Before reading this I always thought it was difficult and time consuming to make so I never even bothered lol. Thanks so much for the recipe 🙂

    • bigmouthmom April 17, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

      Thank you! A good friend of mine was telling me about a pot pie she makes her family that uses a pound of cream cheese . . .A POUND! I was like, Um thanks for the recipe . . .(under my breath . . .won’t be making that!) So I went home and devised my own much less fattening recipe. I just ate the leftovers tonight . . .still delish!

      • kat April 18, 2012 at 7:30 am #

        A pound of cream cheese?! Ahhh that’s too much!

      • bigmouthmom April 19, 2012 at 1:45 am #

        LOL tell me about it! I am not an excessively healthy cooker, but I cannot cook with a pound cream cheese!

Leave a Reply

