Scrabble Tile Jewelery

17 Mar

My dad had 2 Scrabble games collecting dust in his house for years.  Nobody played them, and who plays on 2 boards at once anyway?  I mean, unless you are in a Scrabble tournament . . . One of the games had plastic tiles, but the other had lovely wooden tiles.  I brought it home and dug through my disaster of a craft cabinet (seriously, small children may have gotten lost in there over the years!)  I dug out some random magazines and started cutting out cool and colorful pictures . . . and low and behold the Scrabble tile  jewelery emerged!

It’s SO simple, and really fast to do.  You need Scrabble tiles, craft glue, scissors, an Exacto knife,plastic necklace rings,  and clear nail polish.

I traced the tile onto the magazine pictures and then cut them out.  Covered on side of the tile in a thin layer of glue and placed the picture onto the tile.  Make sure you press out any bubbles so the picture doesn’t wrinkle as the glue dries.

After the glue dried, I trimmed off any excess magazine with the Exacto knife by turning the tile over and running the knife along the edges.

Then I coated the picture side of the tile with clear nail polish.

After the nail polish dries, glue the plastic necklace ring to the back side of the tile with a little dab of craft glue.  I actually haven’t done this step yet because I want to make sure the polish is totally dry before I mess with the tiles . . .and because I’m a HUGE dork who was so excited about her cool new jewelery that I had to blog it as soon as I was done enough to take pictures!  I’m a freak!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you look close, you can see that some of them are actually used postage stamps!  The heart strawberry, for example, which is one of my favorites!

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Scrabble Tile Jewelery”

  1. kellycy March 17, 2012 at 10:37 pm #

    Great idea. I think I may have to try this. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

