Have Your Fail and Eat it Too

17 Jan

It’s my birthday Sunday, folks, and I’m throwing myself a party tomorrow!  I know that sounds kind of lame and sad, but if I don’t throw one, who will?  Last year was a milestone birthday for me, and I planned a fabulous soiree . .  . and ended up having to cancel last minute due to health issues.  This year I decided I was having my bash no matter what!

The party is tomorrow, so all day today I’ve been cooking, cleaning and decorating.  I kept putting off decorating the cake because, as you may have heard, cake is not my friend.  Yes I enjoy eating it . . . but I SUCK at decorating it!  I scoured the internet for the perfect cake, nothing to difficult or fancy.  I came across this and figured it was easy enough.  Chocolate-cake-with-pink-vanilla-frosting-0-l

Weeeeeelllllll  . . . . For starters I only wanted 2 layers, thought that was safer for me.  I baked my 2 round gluten free chocolate cakes and waited for them to cool.  When I went to flip them out of their pans, the bottoms (which are now the tops) stuck to the pans even though I had greased the HELL out of those suckers!  Ok, no need to panic.  I put the worst one on the bottom, whipped up some pink frosting and shmeared it over the top.  Then, I tried to ever so carefully place the 2nd tier on top.  I didn’t do too horrible, but it wasn’t flat on top, it was very domed and lumpy.  Ok, nothing a little frosting cannot fix, right?

Wrong!  As I frosted, chunks of loose cake stuck to the knife, so it was looking like pink frosting with oreo in it.  On to plan B-this little number: love-cake-and-sprinkles-500x751-custom

I thought, cover the WHOLE cake in frosting and then do sprinkles to mask the speckled look!  Yay?  Nay.  After frosting the entire lumpy ass top,  I was concerned that when I tried to do the sides it would tear them up and my monstrosity would come toppling over.  I did some sprinkles . . . which went EVERY WHERE!  They were seriously bouncing across the kitchen floor while my cats chased after them!  Oh, what a mess!  Alas, I hang my head in cake shame as I show you this: OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I know what you are thinking . . . Oh that’s not so bad.  Ha!  Here is the side shot:

See?  Lumpy, lopsided and not at all what I was going for!  But we will eat the cake and laugh at the jokes my friends will crack about my adventures in cake decorating.

birthdaycake

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

6 Responses to “Have Your Fail and Eat it Too”

  1. Pillows A-La-Mode January 17, 2013 at 10:18 pm #

    Happy birthday!!! :)

  2. anappetiteforrunning January 18, 2013 at 12:35 am #

    Happy birthday! Throwing your own party = awesome. Cake that has character? Even more awesome! Hope you have a great time!!!

  3. T with a Twist January 19, 2013 at 4:46 am #

    Happy Birthday! The cake looks great :)

    Here are a few tips that might make the next experience a little better. Put a parchment round on top of the greased surface before pouring your batter. Once you take the cake out of the oven. Let it cool in the pan for about 10 minutes and then take it out of the pan while it’s still hot. Peel the parchment and cool it on a rack. If it has cooled in the oven. Heat the oven to 225 F and bring up the cakes temperature before trying to take it out. Hope they help :)

    • bigmouthmom January 19, 2013 at 4:07 pm #

      Thanks for the tips! I will try that next time!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy Birthday to Me « Wrong Way Dummy - January 20, 2013

    [...] of money possible.  It’s almost like a game to me!  And you also probably saw my sad, yet hilarious birthday cake fail .  Some of you even sent me tips for my next cake!  Well, I can assure you that the only part of [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

